Skip to content

San Francisco waaaaay before Francisco

July 13, 2011

Sadly, the great Kellen Gunderson no longer blogs, but he does still send me cool stuff from time to time. Recently he sent me this awesome film taken in San Francisco just days before the earthquake in 1906. Surprisingly, a lot of things are still the same. We still have a lot of questionable pedestrian decisions, great mustaches, and relatively low reliance on non-renewable resources. I wish I could find a way to embed directly here, but oh well. Watch it, or don’t.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2011 7:20 am

    Jae! This was wonderful! I usually don’t take the time to watch videos, but I am so glad I did! I can’t believe how CLOSE it feels that people walking or horses pulling came to that trolley! And just when I thought, OK, there is going to be a collision here, then someone else came in and made it through later. And no one seemed worried about how unorganized and how much wandering the pedestrians as well as horse drawn carriages and cars were. Those horses must have been very reliable. And to see Market street at that time. That is great. Thanks.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    July 14, 2011 7:21 am

    Oh, this was Aunt Margaret

Leave a Reply

